Building Codes Bureau
Department of Labor & Industry

301 So. Park
PO Box 200517
Helena, MT 59620
(406) 841-2053

Current Codes and Edition Adopted:
2012 International Building Code (IBC)
2012 International Existing Building code (IEBC)
2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)
2012 International Residential Code (IRC)
2014 National Electric Code (NEC)
IWUIC (edition not stated)
Applicability (statewide, local, limited): STATEWIDE

The Bureau of Building and Standards within the Department of Labor and Industry adopt construction regulation codes with the exception of the fire code, which is adopted by the Montana State Fire Marshal, which is housed within the Department of Justice (Attorney General’s Office). Montana statute 50-60-202 provides wide authority to the bureau to adopt any nationally recognized building code or standard with the exception of the authority held by the State Fire Marshal in statute 50-3-102 (2) to adopt by rule a state fire prevention code. Local jurisdictions adopt building codes by local ordinance or resolution by statutory authority under 50-60-301. Local adopted codes must be only those codes as adopted by the state. If a local jurisdiction chooses not to adopt codes locally, the state codes still apply. The significance of this is that state laws do not apply to residential buildings with less than five dwelling units. A local jurisdiction must adopt codes locally and the scope of the adoption must include dwelling units with less than five units specifically in order for codes (like the IRC) to be enforceable.

Amendments Disadvantaging Wood Construction:

No apparent amendments. The State code summary is here:

Next Update Cycle:

Unknown. The codes are amended and adopted by the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) Title 24, Chapter 301.