Page updated as of April 2020

State Fire Marshal:

Douglas Jorgenson
Kansas State Fire Marshal's Office
700 SW Jackson, Suite 600
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 296-3401
Fax: (785) 296-0151

State Code Agency:

No State code agency. State Fire Marshal enforces building codes for state owned buildings.

Current State Codes and Edition Adopted:

The State of Kansas does not enforce a statewide building code, but authorizes local jurisdictions to adopt local building codes. State Fire Marshal enforces building codes for state owned buildings. Only the Kansas Fire Prevention Code is mandatory statewide. Local jurisdictions may amend the fire code to make it more stringent. The State has adopted the 2006 IECC for commercial buildings however; there are no adopted State energy code for residential buildings.

The Kansas Codes Collaborative is a new stakeholder group that will help the Energy Division improve its energy codes compliance program and identify additional strategies to support energy codes compliance in local jurisdictions. Members include representatives from the residential and commercial building industries and codes officials from Kansas cities and counties that have already adopted (or are planning to adopt) the 2009 or 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC).

Major jurisdictions in Kansas have adopted the 2012 I codes; some including the 2012 International Energy conservation Code.

Applicability (statewide, local, limited): LIMITED

Codes are adopted and enforced locally. All local jurisdictions can make any amendments they deem necessary in their jurisdictions.

Amendments Disadvantaging Wood Construction:

Some jurisdictions have adopted the 2012 IECC.

Next Update Cycle (amendment opportunities):

No current plan to update to 2015 “I” Codes. Section R302.13 is not adopted unless specifically adopted by the local jurisdiction.

Additional Notes: