Page updated as of April 2020

State Insurance Commissioner:

Germaine L Marks
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 210 (2nd Floor)
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
(602) 364-2499
(602) 364-3470

Current Codes and Edition Adopted:

Codes are adopted locally. Arizona Department of Health Services adopts a minimum code (currently 2012 edition) for licensed health care facilities statewide. By examination of the major communities within the Phoenix area, the following codes have been adopted:

  • 2011 National Electrical Code (NEC)
  • 2018 International Building Code (IBC)
  • 2012 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC)
  • 2012 International Plumbing Code (IPC)
  • 2012 International Mechanical Code (IMC)
  • 2018 International Residential Code (IRC)
  • 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)
  • 2018 International Existing Building Code (IEBC)
  • 2018, 2012 or 2009 International Fire Code (IFC)

Applicability (statewide, local, limited): LOCAL

Codes are primarily adopted and enforced locally.

Amendments Disadvantaging Wood Construction

Some jurisdictions have adopted the 2012 IECC.

Next Update Cycle (amendment opportunities):

Code adoptions are based on local jurisdiction code change process.

Additional Notes:

There is no state building code other than a minimum code adopted by the Arizona Department of Health Services for licensed health care facilities. Major jurisdictions in and around Phoenix have adopted the 2018 Editions of the codes. Phoenix adopted the 2018 editions.

Since codes are adopted by jurisdiction and they are still on the 2012, 2015 or 2018 I Codes, adoption of IRC Section R302.13 is unknown. Phoenix did not include this provision in the update of their 2012 I Code adoption.